

MINUTES OF ANNUAL COUNCIL

MEETING DATE Tuesday, 15 May 2018

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Councillors Michael Titherington (Mayor), John Rainsbury

(Deputy Mayor), Jane Bell, David Bird, Carol Chisholm, Colin Clark, Colin Coulton, Malcolm Donoghue, Bill Evans, Derek Forrest, Paul Foster, Mary Green, Michael Green, Jon Hesketh, Cliff Hughes, Ken Jones, Susan Jones, Jim Marsh, Keith Martin, Caroline Moon, Jacqui Mort,

Peter Mullineaux, Barbara Nathan, Mike Nathan, Mike Nelson, Rebecca Noblet, Alan Ogilvie, James Patten, Margaret Smith, Phil Smith, Susan Snape, David Suthers, Matthew Tomlinson, Karen Walton, Graham Walton, David Watts, Paul Wharton,

David Wooldridge and Linda Woollard

**OFFICERS:** Heather McManus (Chief Executive), Dianne Scambler

(Governance and Member Services Team Leader) and

Caroline Taylor (Senior Public Relations Officer)

**OTHER MEMBERS:** Tony Kelly (Honary Freeman)

PUBLIC: 57

## 1 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Renee Blow, Harold Hancok, David Howarth, Ian Watkinson, Jonathan Woodcock and Barrie Yates.

#### 2 Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were made.

## 3 Election of the Mayor for 2018/19

It was moved by Councillor Graham Walton, seconded by Councillor Phil Smith and

## RESOLVED:

That Councillor John Rainsbury be elected the Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2018/19.

Councillor John Rainsbury and his Mayoress, Mrs Shirley Rainsbury were presented with their chains of office by the Retiring Mayor, Councillor Mick Titherington.

Councillor John Rainsbury signed his declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair.

The Mayor informed the Council that he had appointed Father Martyn Rogers as his chaplain for his year of office and then addressed the Council.

# 4 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Matthew Tomlinson, seconded by Councillor Paul Foster and

## **RESOLVED:**

That a vote of thanks be placed on record to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor Mick Titherington in recognition of the Council's appreciation of his services during his year of office.

Councillor Mick Titherington responded to the vote of thanks.

# 5 Presentation of Commemorative Badges and Album to Retiring Mayor and Mayoress

The Mayor presented commemorative badges and album to Councillor Mick Titherington and Mrs Carole Titherington to commemorate their year of office. The Mayoress presented Mrs Carole Titherington with a gift.

## 6 Election of the Deputy Mayor for 2018/19

It was proposed by Councillor Margaret Smith, seconded by Councillor Colin Clark and

## RESOLVED:

That Councillor Carol Chisholm be elected Deputy Mayor of South Ribble for the municipal year 2018/19.

Councillor Carol Chishom and James Smith (Deputy Mayor's Consort) were presented with their chains of office by the Mayor.

The Deputy Mayor addressed the Council.

Chair	Date